Skip to content

Don’t Try To Fit Me Into A Box, Dammit!

Dec 14, 2012

I wonder if I’m always going to feel like the odd one out. Funny, as I wrote that sentence, I got a Tweet from @CurvesWeek that said, “You are amazing! Embrace your curves!” What a nice thing to see when I am feeling self-doubt.

When I was growing up, I was socially blocked and shut down. As early as I can remember, I wondered how anybody could like me. How twisted is that, for a small child to think this? That was even before I was fat. By the time I started gaining weight in excess of my peers (second grade), I associated my self-esteem with my body size. Like I said before, I was being shut-out and bullied by third or fourth grade, possibly even earlier. We had two very mean neighbor boys.

I went on my first diet at age 11, my second at age 12, my third at age 14, and at age 15 – 17, I was taking uppers to keep from being hungry. At eighteen, I said to hell with losing weight and went on an “I don’t care” eating frenzy where I gained about 200 pounds. My introduction to non-dieting groups came at age 21, and weight and food have been a focus in a “non-focus” way ever since. It feels different right now – like I’m older and wiser. But I hate self-doubt – like I have today.

In this “plus-sized fashion blogger world,” I feel like an odd one out, too. I look at some of the latest fashion clothes and think, “Hell NO, I will not wear that crap!” Yet I feel an internally-imposed pressure to fit in even in an “industry” that is purporting “be yourself and embrace you.” I knew that doing this would bring up stuff. So here it is – stuff. This is coming from me. This is my stuff.

The clothes I like the most are not the clothes that I see other bloggers wearing. I am afraid that I will be judged if I wear tunics, for example – that I will be perceived as someone who likes to “cover up” fat, curves, my body. I saw a post recently where Arched Eyebrow blogger Bethany Rutter has determined that there are three basic types of plus-sized women. I don’t fit into one of those three little boxes, and am not going to try. The sad part is that I kept reading the post to try to fit myself somewhere within those categories. I hate articles like that. In my opinion, they are not useful or helpful.

I get that one day I can wear polka-dots and the next day wear tie-dye; one day I can wear something tight and the next day something flowy; one day wear a geeky, $12 shirt.woot.com t-shirt and the next day an IGIGI $150 tunic.

I also get that I can love bluegrass music as well as Michael Franti; grew up watching “Hee Haw” but also loved The Jackson 5; live in a ranch because it’s good common sense but love old Victorians the best; love all animals but still eat meat; think women are hot but still be heterosexual; be okay with calling myself fat but hesitant about anybody else doing it.

A whole bunch of things make up who I am. I’m not going to wear black lipstick, but someday I may get my hair dyed shades of purple and pink. I may paint my nails gold, but you may never see them orange. I am unique, a mutant, an Aquarius. I was raised to be who I am and to not apologize for it. The irony is that I still doubt myself.

I have liked flowy, tunicky, Bohemian-like things ever since high school – back before they were labeled as such and back when hippies were still somewhat a part of the culture. I saw Walter Cronkite reporting on the Vietnam War and the moon landing, and my mother had an ERA button. My babysitter had hair down below her butt and wore bell-bottoms, and at one point in the 1990s, I had hair that long, too. My favorite rock band is Led Zeppelin, and when I listen to them, I feel like I am coming home. I write code for a living, but wish I could quit and do genealogy instead.

I’ve done searches for “boho” and “bohemian” on Pinterest and typically have gotten stick-figure models that I can’t relate to. I’ve searched for “boho plus size” on Google and gotten a handful of companies where I can get such clothes, or clothes that are Bohemian-style wannabes. They tend to be exorbitantly overpriced and limited in quantity. It’s just damned stupid.

I’m not going to lie and say that I don’t care if anyone reads or likes what I write. I do care, especially on days like this when I am having self-doubt. I’m just a person like everyone else. I’m just a Midwestern white girl who has spent time living in the South and Northeast. I’m not a model and have no interest in that. But if you ever catch me wearing animal print tops or pants, just kill me. Please. Kill me.

Here’s to me today. I need this, and I hope you can get something out of it too. I don’t fit into a box or a category or a type. I have self-doubt and I’m human. Doing this blog about being a plus-sized woman in my mid-40s who is coming to terms with myself and my body is HARD. But I think it’s worth it, even though others who have never been in my shoes try to make assumptions about my motivations.

~Liz

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Diane Ravitch's blog

A site to discuss better education for all

fatmatters

On being a round peg in a narrow world.

Reading While Fat

a big fat queer who loves to read

Dances With Fat

Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness are Not Size Dependent

Curves Become Her

fat brown feminist with a penchant for fashion. Writer-Activist-Funny Girl

plus size style 4 less

The only skinny thing here is my wallet

Curvy Girl Revolution

confidence, style & positive vibes for the curvy girl in a skinny world!!

Curvy Girl On A Budget

Confident Curvy Fashion! Some Say Silence Is Golden, I Choose Noise!

the tiny hobo

Illustrator, tea drinker, hobo

Live, Nerd, Repeat

Making life better through the perfect application of humor and nerdery

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

