Skip to content

Lazy Friday

Dec 8, 2012

Tonight has been a The-Newsroom-watching-nail-painting-recliner-sitting-cat-petting evening. I now have my first ever set of glitter nails (minus the clear top coat on my right hand), a happy purring cat who is lying next to me practically upside down, and ice cold feet because of keeping them up too long (a small price to pay for a very lazy evening).

My nagging husband keeps asking, “Are you ready?” He wants to know if I’m ready to start another episode of the show. I’m going to try to put him off long enough to write a post. I love my [nagging] husband. Let that be known right here and now so that in the future when I bitch about him, we’ll always have that frame of reference.

My exciting news of the day is that I now have a scheduled session with a photographer! Kira Childers from Kira Childers Photography and I will be doing a photo shoot next Sunday. There are SO MANY [sarcastic tone] venues in my town that I’m overwhelmed on where to shoot. My think-outside-the-box mind will have to come up with something.

I have been rolling an idea around in my head about the photos. If you have (or haven’t) noticed, I intentionally post my size and weight. Some bloggers intentionally don’t. I do it for two reasons: 1) to abolish any residual size-shame gunk that still hangs out in my head; and, 2) for the others who read this blog to do the same. It doesn’t matter, right? Well, it does. Even I have noticed that in the curvy girl blog world, most are smaller than me. Hell, I don’t even have an hourglass figure unless I wear the right bra.

So here’s my conundrum. My developing philosophy is in line with “you are beautiful in your body no matter what.” I also like to dress it up. My solution is probably going to be not to think about it, because over-analyzing it and getting crazy about it will just be stupid. It will also drive me nuts. But I wonder about sometimes wearing shaping undergarments, or enhancing bras, or support hose… these aren’t moral issues. And it’s not right or wrong if I don’t wear them. I suppose that sometimes I will and sometimes I won’t. The trick is to look in the mirror and think I’m beautiful no matter what.

So as the blog photos develop (get it? photos? develop?), I’ll have whatever kind of photos I want. I’m too established in some ways to try to fit myself into a BOX. This part of my journey is all about coming OUT of a box!

Found this just now on Sexy Curves Required‘s Facebook page.

Quote

It’s gonna be worth their while either way. 🙂

~Liz

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Diane Ravitch's blog

A site to discuss better education for all

fatmatters

On being a round peg in a narrow world.

Reading While Fat

a big fat queer who loves to read

Dances With Fat

Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness are Not Size Dependent

Curves Become Her

fat brown feminist with a penchant for fashion. Writer-Activist-Funny Girl

plus size style 4 less

The only skinny thing here is my wallet

Curvy Girl Revolution

confidence, style & positive vibes for the curvy girl in a skinny world!!

Curvy Girl On A Budget

Confident Curvy Fashion! Some Say Silence Is Golden, I Choose Noise!

the tiny hobo

Illustrator, tea drinker, hobo

Live, Nerd, Repeat

Making life better through the perfect application of humor and nerdery

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

