Skip to content

Gorgeous!

Nov 10, 2012

I like the term “Curvy Girl,” even though I’m not a girl anymore. “Curvy Chick” is okay too. There are “Big, Beautiful Woman,” “Voluptuous Vixen,” and I don’t even know how many other terms out there for the plus-sized girl, lady, chick, or woman who is coming to terms with or flaunting and loving her size and shape.

But none of them were me. Not yet. I had to start looking at myself in the mirror, in all my self-infamous glory, with my turkey gullet, huge arms, hanging skin, sagging boobs, back fat (Lord how I hate back fat!), and various colors and ages of stretch marks covering my body.

I had to GET USED to myself in the mirror, naked and clothed, before I could start ACCEPTING that I damn well had a right to look fantastic. That I was, yes, beautiful just like my mama said, even when I was fat. She told me that at least as much, if not more, when I was fat than she did when I was thin. I was the one who made myself start dieting at age eleven – not anybody else. But when you see pictures of Farrah Fawcett and Bo Derek on TV, what is there for a little fat girl to think but that she’s not pretty?

So screw all of these clothing and fashion companies that make clothes for sizes 0 – 9, and sometimes through 13 or 14. How many women do they think exist at that size? They are charging an arm and a leg for their designer clothes. Add a little more fabric to some of them! Geez.

I recently found out that there are such things as “plus-sized jewelry” and “wide-calf boots.” Seriously? Thanks, girls! You’ve made the fashion industry come a long way! I must admit that I hadn’t checked in quite some time.

Not only do I now insist on feeling and acting entitled to as many beautiful, stylish, and “in” clothes as my size 3 step-daughter, but I can wear bangles. I can wear BANGLES!!

This blog will suck if I don’t share fashion early, but that won’t be today. Bear with me while I get set up. I welcome your comments, and please – share and spread this blog!

~Liz

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Diane Ravitch's blog

A site to discuss better education for all

fatmatters

On being a round peg in a narrow world.

Reading While Fat

a big fat queer who loves to read

Dances With Fat

Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness are Not Size Dependent

Curves Become Her

fat brown feminist with a penchant for fashion. Writer-Activist-Funny Girl

plus size style 4 less

The only skinny thing here is my wallet

Curvy Girl Revolution

confidence, style & positive vibes for the curvy girl in a skinny world!!

Curvy Girl On A Budget

Confident Curvy Fashion! Some Say Silence Is Golden, I Choose Noise!

the tiny hobo

Illustrator, tea drinker, hobo

Live, Nerd, Repeat

Making life better through the perfect application of humor and nerdery

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

